Skip to content

Goodbye Korea and Hello Germany

March 3, 2010

This last week has been insanity.  Packing up, saying goodbye, cleaning and more farewells.   It has been draining physically and emotionally.  Every night we met up with a different family or group of friends or teachers from our schools to say goodbye.  At my own school dinner, I could barely say “I will miss you”  before dissolving into tears.  Not that I expected any different..

Fortunately for Mike and I, there was an angel to help us through this week.  She’s been a close friend to us for the two years she was in Taebaek and her name is Theresa.  So despite all the dongchim attacks, butt slaps and arm/leg-chims that she’s gotten me with – I can’t help but feel truly grateful to have known her.  If it wasn’t for Theresa, there’s no way Mike & I could have caught our train on Saturday to Seoul – without having to return to Taebaek to finish the cleaning & de-cluttering our apartment.  So, I’d like to say thank you MTT.  You are a rock and a beautiful, wonderful human being.

Yesterday, Mike’s birthday, was somewhat (totally) forgotten by both of us.  Largely due to our pre-occupation with being on a 12 hour flight.  The flight was almost uneventful.  At about the 6 hour mark, Mike wanted my attention because a lady with her chubby baby was going for a walk and she stopped to pass her kid to Mike!  The baby, Leonard, was a very happy little guy and was fascinated by Mike.  Before the flight ended, there was a little surprise for Mike.  One of the flight attendants had noticed that it was Mike’s birthday – so he made Mike a birthday card and a mini cocktail for both of us!  It was a really sweet gesture but funny as we hadn’t had anything to do with the attendant who went to all that trouble.

Getting into Germany was very easy.  I did have a moment of concern when at immigration I requested a multi-entry visa (as I’m going to need one) and was told that I didn’t need one and should, perhaps, have found out the situation before arriving in Germany.  I checked with my local German embassy and was told I could ask on arrival.  I don’t think that impressed the Immigration officer but anyone who has tried to understand the Schengen Visa rules can understand my mistake.  The fact of it is, as an Australian citizen, a multi entry Schengen visa is the same as a single entry.  Immigration stamped me with the port of entry and the date.  That’s it.

So, we’re in Frankfurt now, staying at the Colour Hotel and trying to get used to an 8 hour time difference .

No comments yet

Leave a comment